Best Albums of 2009

1. Merriweather Post Pavillion/Fall Be Kind (EP)-Animal Collective
Best tracks: My Girls, Bluish/ Graze, I Think I Can

2. Bitte Orca-Dirty Projectors
Best tracks: No Intention, Stillness is the Move
3. Hospice-The Antlers
Best tracks: Kettering, Bear
4. Manners/Chunk of Change (EP)-Passion Pit
Best tracks: The Reeling, Sleepyhead
5. Logos- Atlas Sound
Best tracks: Walkabout, Shelia
6. Psychic Chasms- Neon Indian
Best tracks: Deadbeat Summer, 6669
7. The xx- The xx
Best tracks: Basic Space, Crystalized
8. Veckatimist- Grizzly Bear
Best tracks: Two Weeks, Cheerleader
9. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix- Phoenix
Best tracks: 1901, Lisztomania
10. A Brief History of Love- The Big Pink
Best tracks: Velvet, Dominos
11. Embryonic-The Flaming Lips
Best tracks: Silver Trembling Hands, Watching the Planets
12. Guns Don’t Kill People, Lasers Do-Major Laser

Best tracks: Hold the Line, Keep it Goin’ Louder
13. LP-Discovery
Best tracks: So Insane, Carby
14. BiRd-BrAiNs – tUnE-yArDs
Best tracks: Sunlight, Hatari
15. Two Suns-Bat For Lashes
Best tracks: Pearl’s Dream, Daniel
Other Good Albums:
Bromst-Dan Deacon
Fever Ray-Fever Ray
March of the Zapotec/Holland – Beirut
Dark Was The Night – Various Artists

8 thoughts on “Best Albums of 2009

  1. Nice list man, your taste has come a long way. Very p4k influenced, but also very good! I agree MPP is the best of the year.

    I like this blog.

      • Yeah, it’s a useful website, and I usually check out what they put on their Best New Music page, but it’s good to branch out. If they give an album a mediocre rating, that album ends up being overlooked by a lot of people. And it might be really great. The scores are really meaningless, just one person’s opinion. Tiny Mix Tapes is pretty good too. But most of the time I just find new music on blogs that post the albums and I don’t read any reviews at all. Here’s a pretty good blog to download from I recently found: http://dayvanzombear.blogspot.com/

  2. Grizzly Bear at no. 8?! Are you INSANE?! Sorry, but I guess I cannot read other people’s best album lists without my Ed Droste-colored glasses swaying my opinion a bit.

    And I feel very alone when I say this but I just can’t get on board with the Dirty Projectors, because of their voices…no. Just no.

    And if your looking for another decent place to find music,I’d recommed stereogum.com. They just did a 50 best albums of the decade list and it is quite good.

    • I do like Grizzly Bear, I like Horn of Plenty and Yellow House a little better then Veckatimist. I got to see them perform with Beach House this year and that was really cool.

      Yeah, stereogum is a cool site, I did not know they had that list up though, thanks, I haven’t visited it in a while.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.