My Thoughts On “The End” of Lost

Don’t read this if you haven’t seen the finale. I’m going to post a full recap later, but I don’t have time for that and I just had to let out some of my views on the finale now.

I expected so much from this 2.5 hours of television that it could not have lived up to my expectations. I thought that the beginning felt like a lame clip show, but now I feel that there is some beauty in how simple it is. It was a pretty good way to wrap the character story-lines, I feel. I think that the on island story was too simple though. I mean they just had to move that rock plug, kill Locke, and move the rock plug back? And I expected more action! But whatever.

The end of “The End” was blatantly spiritual and I feel that turned some people off. I think they could have made it more metaphorical and maybe took out the bright light to avoid bothering these people, but the show has always had religious overtones, so I guess it is fitting. The big reveal at the end as to what the “flash-sideways” is confused everyone and everyone has their own interpretation. I would be very disappointed if the finale did not spark confusion and discussion.

Here is my interpretation, the sideways world is like a version of purgatory that existed to remind the losties, of their previous life so they could let go and move on to their next life. It does this by recreating similar events from their past life to try to help trigger memories. Desmond and Charlie are one of the first to realize this and they start awakening other people. The question that everyone wants to know is how did everyone die? And I was curious how Aaron died because he was off the island. I think the reason most people died was because the island did sink, but I have no clue, it also kind of seems like that didn’t happen. I don’t think it really matters thought, because Christian tells Jack that you don’t experience time in sideways world and that everyone dies sometime. So, Aaron may have died of old age for all we know. Once everyone is enlightened they happily move on to heaven or nirvana or whatever (the writers kept it purposefully universal).

Ben did not move on, he still has work to do in this world to atone for all the people he killed or whatever.

One big question I have is: if we did not see one of the characters in the church does that mean they went to Hell? We didn’t see Micheal, I guess it would be fitting for him to go to Hell. Mr Eko wasn’t there, when he died he said he would not give his confession. I don’t think we can read too far into this though because we may not have seen everyone that was in that church, and maybe the writers could not get everyone to return that they wanted.

I feel that the end should have shined more light on them saving the world and more about how the island was important, but I also found that it was kind of cool that the writers showed that the characters were more important and that their lives on the island were simply the best part of their lives because they met each other and because one big happy family.

I feel that I could not justify not liking the finale to myself. I’m still a little unsure what to think about it. I feel like I know some aspects of it weren’t awesome, like I have discussed here, but I feel that I have found good reasons to like it.

I guess I have to say that it did not do that great at wrapping the show as a whole, which I understand could be difficult with this show, but I feel they could have done better. The show was awesome and the ending didnt ruin that. I’m happy the ending was thought provoking, at least it was interesting.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

